How Youtube taught me how to make my first wig

20170225_114236.jpg

At the start of the year, I decided it was time for me to go ‘natural’. A number of factors prompted me to make this decision. First, I wanted to fall in love with my hair again and learn how to take care of hair. In my 30 something years on this planet, it dawned on me, that I didn’t actually know how to take care of my own natural hair and it was about time that I changed that. Second, I wanted to rid my hair of all the years of chemical damage that had been infused into it, through the relaxing process. I found that after years of relaxing my hair, especially at the crown (was becoming very thin) and I was desperate to change this. Third, the cost of installing a weave, which generally lasts for about 2 months before you have to take it out and install a new weave, was quickly accumulating. I felt that there better ways that I could spend my hard earned money, rather than on hair extensions and installation. Four, it was about time that I walked the talk (about a year ago I wrote an article on the “Resurgence of the fro”, ), so I owed it to myself and my readers to at least give it a try.

Before now, I hadn’t worn my hair in its natural state since I was about 12 years old (a long time I know). So for me, it was uncharted territory (sad I know, because wearing your own natural hair should not be considered ‘the unknown’). But for me it was. As I embarked on this new hair journey, I equipped myself with all the popular natural hair products on the market but I soon realised it was not as easy as I initially thought. One of the first problems I faced was how do I wear my hair? In deciding to go natural I chose to allow my hair grow out instead of going with the big chop. This meant that I was in the transition phase. This can be challenging for people going natural because half your hair is relaxed, while the other half is natural, making it rather difficult to find hair styles that suit this sort of mixed hair textures.

My solution was to opt for protective hair styles, (while my hair transitions out of its relaxed stage to its natural state). In so doing I thought about wearing a wig. A wig seemed liked the go to option for me because of it is versatile, easy and relatively low to maintain. As I set out to find the ‘perfect’ wig, I was shocked by the going rate of wigs on the market. Most relatively decent looking wigs would set you back by at least a £100! Custom made wigs were even more expensive, costing you anywhere in the range of £150 to £300. As I researched and made sense of all these crazy figures, I thought to myself, I might as well try to make my own wig. The famous saying- “necessity is the mother of all inventions” began to resonate with me, like never before. As I came to terms with the fact that I was about to do something I had zero proficiency in, I thought to myself it can’t be that hard, if it’s not Rocket Science, then it can’t be that difficult.

I decided the first step in the process of wig making was to learn from the ‘pros’- where else could you acquire a wealth of knowledge than on YouTube? So that is where I started. For days, I scrolled through YouTube searching for the best practises and tips on wig making and after I had gathered sufficient knowledge (and all the needed material), I embarked on the process of making a wig for the very first time. This might not be a big deal for some people, but for me, it was epic!. This is because I had very basic proficiency when it came to matters of the hair. I could just about wash, condition and blow dry my hair, that was pretty much it. I didn’t know how to braid, do cornrows or anything of the sort, so making a wig was a big step up for me. It was pretty much like going to university from primary school, skipping secondary/high school (I hope you get my drift).

As I sat down to make the wig, stitch by stitch, I was terrified that I would make a huge mess of it and all the money I spent on materials would go to waste, but slowly, it began to come together and resemble something that I could potentially wear. After many hours of toil and sweat, my wig was finally complete, and I was ready to step into the world of wig wearers.20170318_122043

One thought on “How Youtube taught me how to make my first wig

  1. The Interpreter says:

    Hello 🙂 Just stumbled across your blog, I have to say I’m loving it already 😀
    Most of what I know about making wigs, taking care of natural hair and of course make up, I learned from You Tube. However, I didn’t transition, I had the big chop January last year, the damage to my hair was too bad, and it hurt seeing it in that state. When I look back, I think about how ridiculous I was to have used such harsh chemicals on my hair. The wigs have been a big help, making it can be a pain, but I’d rather do that than spending insane amounts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

